Inspiring Posts for Moms with Young Kids

I am a mom with young kids. And I am so excited to homeschool my kids! Isn’t that how it always is? We are eager for the next step and forget to enjoy the moment. I find this especially the case with homeschooling. Everyone with kids the age as R-3 are sending them off to preschool or teaching them to read already. At the beginning of the school year, several posts have come out reminding moms like me to slow down and enjoy where I am in my motherhood and homeschooling journey.

If there are any other moms out there in a similar situation, please check these posts out!

Pam Barnhill, the awesome host of the podcasts Homeschool Snapshots and Your Morning Basket, has been sharing videos full of information and advice on Facebook Live. Her recent post, “What to do in the early years,” was so full of specific advice on how to have a relaxed educational atmosphere in your home for those early years. She also gives recommendations of books and products to check out. I appreciated that she discussed toddlers through first graders, giving a vision of what those early years are all about. It’s a time to learn, yes, but mostly to read with mom and play and explore.

Brandy Vencel describes her greatest regret of homeschooling was being too academic too early with her oldest child. When I read “Looking Back,” I knew that these were things I should remember and apply with my own daughter. Instead of flat academic lessons focusing on letters and shapes, Brandy encouraged her readers to go outside, listen to beautiful music, look at great pictures, read aloud (especially Nursery Rhymes), don’t start reading lessons or keep them very short, learn math through play and real experiences, and work together. This article inspired me to put folk songs, composer listening, and artist study into our morning time and school lessons. It’s better to fill these young minds with great art instead of simplistic ideas.

Sarah MacKenzie gives things she would do differently with regards to educating her young children, but her biggest piece of advice in “6 Ways to Early Years You Won’t Regret,” is so be consistent with short and low-pressure lessons, teach the children how to consistently do chores, and to live well by playing and resting and enjoying the time together. And, of course, she recommends reading aloud a whole lot.

Jennifer Mackintosh does probably the most structure with her preschoolers, including simple lesson plans, keeping them short and playful, and mostly reading stories. She recommends staying at home and giving special attention to the young child. Check out her “A Year Considered” for more there.

Simply Charlotte Mason has an early years book giving suggestions of what to do with your little ones. I haven’t yet read it, but it’s on my to-buy list!

 

These experienced moms have encouraged me to relax, enjoy the time with my children, to focus on the beauty in art and the earth, and to keep any lessons short but consistent. I’m in the thick of it and am longing for more with my kiddos, but one of the main reasons I’m planning to homeschool is so that my children can enjoy their childhood. And that includes their very young years.

Leave a Reply

